Pakistan announces squad for Test series against West Indies


AFP / File

Pakistan captain Babar Azam on Wednesday announced a 19-member Test squad for the two-match series against the West Indies starting tomorrow.

“It has been agreed to release Haris Rauf and Muhammad Nawaz so that they can return to Pakistan and spend quality time with their families,” the captain told a press conference via video link.

“It will also give them a few extra days to rest, to reorganize and re-charge for further engagement, starting with the series against Afghanistan,” the captain said.

In the 17-Test series played between the two teams, Pakistan has a 6-5 lead over the West Indies. However, the West Indies have a clear 4-1 lead over Pakistan in the eighth series played in the Caribbean.

In the last meeting between the two sides in 2016-17, Pakistan ended its drought in the Caribbean by winning its first Test series 2-1.

Pakistan Test Squad

Babar Azam (captain), Mohammad Rizwan (vice-captain) (wicket keeper), Abdullah Shafiq, Abid Ali, Azhar Ali, Fahim Ashraf, Fawad Alam, Hassan Ali, Imran Butt, Mohammad Abbas, Naseem Shah, Noman Ali, Sajid Khan, Sarfraz Ahmed, Saud Shakeel, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Shahnawaz Dahani, Yasir Shah, and Zahid Mahmood.

Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here