ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021 Fixtures Revealed


ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021 Fixtures Revealed

The ICC announced the fixtures for the marquee tournament on Tuesday, August 17.

Photo: AFP

The ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021 will start on October 17 in the UAE and Oman, with the final to be played on November 14 in Dubai.

The ICC announced the fixtures for the marquee tournament on Tuesday, August 17. Here’s everything you need to know.

Round 1

The tournament kicks off on October 17 at 2pm local time between hosts Oman and Papua New Guinea in a Round 1 Group B match, with the other Group B teams clashing in the evening match at 6pm.

Ireland, the Netherlands, Sri Lanka and Namibia – forming Group A – will be in action in Abu Dhabi the next day, with Round 1 matches set to continue until October 22. The top two teams in each group will advance to the Super 12 stage of the tournament, which starts on October 23.

Super 12

The second round of the tournament – Super 12 – will begin on October 23 in Abu Dhabi, with Group 1 between Australia and South Africa. This will be followed by an evening clash between England and the West Indies in Dubai.

Old rivals England and Australia will close in Dubai on October 30. The group ends on November 6 in Abu Dhabi between Australia and the West Indies, and in Sharjah between England and South Africa.

Group 2 between India and Pakistan will start on October 24 in Dubai at 6 pm local time. Pakistan will then take on New Zealand in Sharjah on October 26, a tough start for the 2009 champions. Afghanistan began their campaign in Sharjah on October 25, competing in the first round against Group B winners.

The group will end on November 8. India will face the second-placed Round 1 qualifier from Group A.

Semi final

The first semi-final will take place on November 10 at 6pm local time in Abu Dhabi. The second semi-final will be played on November 11 in Dubai. Both are special days for the semi-finals.

the last

The marquee clash of the tournament will take place on Sunday, November 14, at 6 pm local time in Dubai, with Monday serving as the reserve day for the final.

Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here