The T20 World Cup is set to begin on Sunday.


Image courtesy of ICC

Muscat: Oman and Papua New Guinea have pledged not to downplay the role of warm-up acts in the global exhibition in the UAE’s fragile environment, with both countries hosting the Twenty20 World Cup on Sunday.

Originally to be held in Australia and then in India, before both were defeated by COVID-19, the seventh edition of the event begins with a double header at the 3,000-seat venue outside Muscat.

Later on Sunday, Bangladesh will face Ireland, Namibia, the Netherlands and 2010 champions Sri Lanka on Monday before Scotland.

In the first round of qualifying, eight teams are chasing four places in the Super 12 round robin stage.

England, Australia, South Africa, defending champions West Indies, India, Pakistan, New Zealand and Afghanistan will wait with all the matches in Dubai, Abu Dhabi and Sharjah.

The top four will reach the semi-finals before the final in Dubai on November 14.

Much is at stake for qualifying teams.

A place in the next round guarantees a place in the 2022 T20 World Cup.

There is also a financial incentive. Teams that exit the first hurdle carry a modest $ 40,000 (، 34,500) for the same amount of money for each win.

The final champions received a چیک 1.6 million winning check.

Oman is playing in its second T20 World Cup, which stunned Ireland in the 2016 tournament.

His team is almost exclusively made up of semi-professional South Asian expatriates who combine cricket with full-time work. Many trains leave at 5:30 in the morning.

Papua New Guinea is starting the T20 World Cup.

He has already been living in the Gulf for a month in Oman.

“This is truly a proud moment for me and the boys,” said PNG captain Asadwala.

Bangladesh have won just one match in the tournament since 2007 but will be excited to make it to the second round, with a world ranking of six.

They go to the tournament after winning home series against Australia, New Zealand and Zimbabwe.

England tight favorite?

The Scots have fallen first in their last three T20 World Cups in 2007, 2009 and 2016.

He claimed his first and only victory in the tournament five years ago – an eight-wicket victory over rain-hit Hong Kong.

After qualifying, many see Avon Morgan’s England as a narrow favorite to become the double world champions.

The top nations will participate in the event – 70% complete at the stadium – on October 23, Australia and South Africa in the opening match of the Super 12 stage and England will face the West Indies.

England defeated New Zealand to win the 50 overs title at Lord’s in 2019.

Morgan’s team, however, will be without Ben Stokes and Joffre Archer, who played a key role in their one-day World Cup victory.

England had to defend 19 runs in the last over of the 2016 T20 final in Kolkata, but West Indies’ Carlos Brathwaite famously hit four straight sixes to Stokes to give the Caribbeans their second World T20 title.

Many of the winning teams will return, led by Caron Pollard and old war horses Dwayne Bravo, 38, and Chris Gayle, 42.

Asian companies India will launch their campaign against rival and former champions Pakistan on October 24 and Virat Kohli is looking to make a splash before retiring as captain of the T20 team.

India I repeat.

Kohli will try to replicate India’s victory in the inaugural tournament in 2007.

The Indian Premier League, which ended on Friday, gave many stars a chance to get used to the pitches in the UAE.

Glenn Maxwell, for example, scored 513 runs in the world’s most popular cricket league, including six half-centuries, a performance that would raise hopes of Australia’s first T20 title.

Neighboring New Zealand, led by Kenny Williamson, will be eyeing two consecutive world titles after beating India in the final to win the opening Test championship in June.

Tournament format.

This year’s Men’s T20 World Cup takes place in three stages.

In Round 1, two groups of four teams participate in Round Robin. The top two teams in each group advance to the Super 12 stage. Each of the Round 1 groups includes three 2019 qualifiers and one of the two automatic qualifiers, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh.

The top seed from Group A and the second seed from Group B enter Group 1 of the Super 12s, the top seed from Group B and the second seed from Group A enter Group 2.

In the Super 12 stage, two groups of six groups play round robin and two teams from each group advance to the knockout stage, with two semi-finals and one final.

In each of the two Super 12 groups, India and the MRF Tires, which host the automatic qualifiers-tournament, are the top seven teams in the ICC rankings on cut-off history and two Round 1 qualifiers.

Points system.

The following point system will be implemented in both the group stages.

Win – two points

Tie, no result or left – a point

Loss or loss – zero points.

Are there reserve days?

Yes, for both the semi-final and the final. There will be no reserve day for any other match.

Key dates.

Tournament starts: October 17.

The event will kick off at the Oman Cricket Academy Ground in the Emirates between Round 1, Group B match host Oman and Papua New Guinea. After that day, Group B opponents Bangladesh and Scotland will start their campaign against each other at the same venue.

Group A starts the next day in Abu Dhabi, with Ireland and the Netherlands playing in the afternoon, and Syria in the evening against Sri Lanka and Namibia.

Round 1 ends: October 22.

Group 1 Namibia Ireland and Sri Lanka Round 1 ended with double headers in Sharjah, Netherlands.

The final match of Group B will be played on October 21 at Oman Cricket Academy in a double header.

The top two teams in each group advance to the Super 12 stage.

Super 12 stage starts: October 23.

The Super 12 stage of the tournament begins just one day after the end of Round 1, with Group 1 teams Australia and South Africa meeting in Abu Dhabi.

Group 2 kicks off the next day with an open clash between India and Pakistan in Dubai.

Super 12 stage ends: November 8.

The Super 12 stage will end on November 8 when India play their last match of the stage against their Group 1 Round 1 Group A qualifier in Dubai.

Semi-finals: November 10 and November 11.

The top two teams from each Super 12 group reached the semi-finals, scheduled for November 10 and 11 in Abu Dhabi and Dubai, respectively.

Final: November 14.

The tournament will conclude on November 14 at the Dubai International Stadium.

Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here