Babar Azam, Shoaib Malik join squad after 19 Test negative


Pakistan all-rounder Shoaib Malik (L) and captain Babar Azam (R)

DHAKA: Pakistan cricket team captain Babar Azam and all-rounder Shoaib Malik have joined the national squad for the Pakistan vs Bangladesh series after the Tests of Kwid 19 came down negative.

Both players joined the squad at the Team Hotel in the Bangladeshi capital on Tuesday. He will attend a training session with other team members today (Wednesday).

The national squad will conduct a full three-hour training session today, starting at 1:45 pm local time.

The three-match T20 series against Bangladesh starts on November 19.

Meanwhile, Mohammad Rizwan has regained full fitness and was part of a training session at Mirpur Cricket Academy. The batsmen suffered a chest infection during the T20 World Cup and reached the semi-finals after spending two nights in hospital.

According to a team official, “the players were engaged in training for three hours in which they were seen engaging in batting, bowling, fielding and physical exercise.”

The second and third T20 Internationals against Bangladesh will be played on November 20 and 22 in Dhaka.

There will be match day night games, for the first time since March 2020, spectators will return to the gallery in Bangladesh.

Pakistan will also play two Test matches during its tour of Bangladesh.

Bangladesh T20 squad for Pakistan series

Right-handed batsman Mushfiqur Rahim has been rested for the three-match T20I series against Pakistan.

He was criticized for his poor performance in the recent T20 World Cup, scoring just one half-century in eight matches.

Bangladesh’s tournament was disappointing, losing to Scotland in the qualifiers and failing to win a single game in the Super 12 stage.

He was forced to make at least six changes to the squad for the upcoming series, with all-rounders Shakib Al Hasan and Mohammad Saifuddin ruled out due to injury.

Batsmen Lytton Das and Sumia Sarkar have been dropped from the series against World Cup semi-finalists as well as fast bowler Rubel Hussain.

Among those recalled to the squad are batsman Najam Hussain Shanto and league spinner Aminul Islam Biplob.

Under-19 World Cup-winning captain Akbar Ali – a wicket-keeper – was also the first T20 call-up for batsmen Saif Hassan and Yasir Ali Chaudhry, and fast bowler Shahidul Islam.

Squad: Mahmudullah Riaz (Captain), Mohammad Naeem, Najam Al Hassan, Afif Hussain, Noorul Hassan Sohan, Mehdi Hassan, Aminul Islam, Mustafizur Rehman, Shuraul Islam, Taskin Ahmed, Shamim Hussain, Naseem Ahmed, Saif Hassan, Yasir Ali, Shahidul Islam , Akbar Ali

Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here