Pakistan shakes Bangladesh’s top order


Shaheen Afridi with his teammates celebrating Saeed Hassan’s wicket. AFP

Chittagong: In the first Test match played at Zahoor Ahmed Chaudhry Stadium in Chittagong, the host team decided to bat first, then the Pakistani bowlers shook the batting of Bangladesh.

Pakistan gave a test cap to Abdullah Shafiq while Yasir Ali made his debut for the hosts.

Babar Azam gave the cap to Abdullah Shafiq after which he became the 246th player to play Test cricket for Pakistan.

Expressing his excitement on the occasion, Abdullah Shafiq said that it is the desire of every cricketer to represent his country in Test cricket. “Today my dream has come true and I am very happy about it.”

He said that he has learned a lot from his senior players and will do his best to perform well in the match.

According to the batting order, Abid Ali will open for Pakistan with debutant Abdullah.

Pakistan has a confident and stable middle order with Azhar Ali, Babar Azam and Fawad Alam, followed by wicketkeeper-batsman Mohammad Rizwan at No. 6.

Bangladesh will not have the experience of Tamim Iqbal and Shakib Al Hasan as both are not available due to injuries.

Cry go

Pakistan has played three series in Bangladesh and won five of the six Tests, its last win was in May 2015 in Dhaka by 328 runs. Azhar Ali and Mushfiqur Rahim are the only players from both sides who took part in this match.

Azhar scored 226 and 25 while Mushfiqur scored 12 and zero when Azhar went on to be the best player of the match, with centuries by Younis Khan (148) and Asad Shafiq (107) as well as match figures of 36.3. The numbers will also be remembered. -7-128-7 Yasir Shah, who will miss the series as he has not yet recovered from the thumb injury he suffered during the National T20.

Playing XI

Pakistan: Abdullah Shafiq, Abid Ali, Azhar Ali, Babar Azam (Captain), Fawad Alam, Muhammad Rizwan, Fahim Ashraf, Noman Ali, Hassan Ali, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Sajid Khan

Bangladesh: Shadman Islam, Najam Hussain Shanto, Mominul Haq (Captain), Mushfiqur Rahim, Lytton Das, Yasir Ali, Mehdi Hassan Miraz, Tejul Islam, Abu Jaid, Ibadat Hussain, Saif Hassan

Umpires: Michael Gough (ENG), Sharaf al-Dawlah Ibn Shahid Sekat (BAN)

TV Umpire: Ghazi Sohail (BAN)

Match Referees: Niamur Rashid (BAN)

Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here