Indian record label removes Pakistani artists’ songs from YouTube channel

Indian record label removes Pakistani artists' songs from YouTube channel

Indian music record label T-series has unlisted songs by Pakistani artists from its YouTube channel in the wake of the Pulwama attack.

The film division of the Maharashtra Navnirman Sena (MNS), a right-wing political party in India, had called on a ban on Pakistani artists collaborating with music producers in India.

“We have verbally communicated to Indian music companies like T-Series, Sony Music, Venus and Tips Music etc to not work with Pakistani singers. These companies should stop it immediately or we will take action in our own style,” said Amey Khopkar, head of the MNS Chitrapat Sena.

T-series’ frontman Bhushan Kumar had recently collaborated with Rahat Fateh Ali Khan and Atif Aslam for two songs, which have now been dropped from the YouTube channel.

“They have removed their songs [from the company’s YouTube channel] post our warning,” Khopkar claimed.

At the time of 2016’s Uri attacks as well, the party led by Raj Thackeray had given the Pakistani artists in India a deadline of 48 hours to leave the country. 

Meanwhile, numerous celebrities such as Shabana Azmi and others, have come forth supporting  a complete ban on cultural exchange between India and Pakistan. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge